The Ram has been Dispatched…

Yes….the title is not a typo or anything like that.  Today I want to encourage you in whatever situation you are in, about to go into, or about to come out of ~ God has ALREADY dispatched “the ram” of provision for you.  This isn’t some kind of genie in the bottle kind of philosophy and it absolutely is NOT some kind of recipe for a quick fix to your problem.

This idea came from a message I heard a few months back that focused partly on the story of Abraham and Isaac.  The history of Abraham & Sarah becoming parents to Isaac (at the ripe old ages of 90 & 100…yep…miracle of God for sure!) is a spectacular part of scripture where you see how God’s promises will unfold when we trust in Him.  With this in mind, as we get to Genesis chapter 22, it seems inconceivable that God would ask Abraham to trust Him once more with Isaac, and present him as a sacrifice.  WHOA!

As Abraham took each step up that mountain, to sacrifice his only son, the son that God has promised to bring him as a legacy for generations to come ~ how conflicted he must have felt as the journey proceeded!

But with each step up one side of that insurmountable mountain terrain, God was providing the miracle on the other side of the mountain.  Abraham couldn’t see the other side of the mountain AND he trusted God at the same time.  He trusted that God would provide a way.  A way to spare his son.  A way to honor his commitment and obedience to the Lord that would bring about a peaceful outcome.

Genesis 22:13-14, shows beautifully God’s process of redemption, And Abraham lifted up his eyes and looked, and behold, behind him was a ram, caught in a thicket by his horns. And Abraham went and took the ram and offered it up as a burnt offering instead of his son. So Abraham called the name of that place, “The Lord will provide”;as it is said to this day, “On the mount of the Lord it shall be provided.”

The ram that God provided didn’t come prancing (to ram’s prance?) up the mountain and present himself to Abraham.  No, the ram was BEHIND Abraham.  Picture the scene that Abraham was engrossed in ~ his son was bound on an altar, with his hand raised, poised with a knife, ready to do what God asked him to do. He had laser focus because I’m sure he was still replaying in his mind what God had asked of him. So focused that God audibly spoke to him again telling him not to harm Isaac.

Hearing God’s voice caused him to stop what he was doing and did you catch that part in the beginning of verse 13? And Abraham lifted up his eyes and looked…”  Not to be disrespectful, but he had to literally, “stop, look, and listen”!!

There have been so many times in my life where God has provided in my greatest time of need. Whether it be emotional, spiritual, physical, or financial.  Sometimes it took a bit of time for me to see the provision.  But as I have matured in my faith, I am able to notice God’s Hand moving in my life much easier.

Just this morning, I knew I needed to go to the bank and cut checks for our tithe, some bills, and our rent check.  Knowing that would deplete our accounts, however, incredibly thankful to have the finances to do it.  Also knowing, due to the nature of my husband’s business, where were the finances coming from to cover us for the at least the first part of July?

Because this kind of thing has been “our life” for the past 16 years (that’s another blog for another time) I can tell you that I wasn’t nervous or doubtful this morning.  I prayed for God to give me the peace and faith that He would provide.  I do not say this lightly…it’s taken A LOT OF YEARS and a lot of experience in learning how to trust the Lord for me to say it so simply.

When I got home from picking up our youngest daughter at church (she just got home from a 2 week mission trip to Brazil…super excited to see her again!!), I casually glanced at the mail and guess what was there….yep!

God’s provision!!

While I was doing errands and picking up my sweet girl, God was bringing a check via the postman to our home to say…”Hello My daughter!  Look what I brought you today!”  I felt a smile spread across my face and sensed a blanket of peace rest around my shoulders as I opened up the check that my husband had invoiced for weeks ago.  Only God can offer provision at the most precise time that it is needed.  God provided the ram!

Whatever  you are troubled by today, whatever you find that occupies your mind with worry ~ here’s my encouragement to you today:

God is already sending you a “ram of provision” to cover the issues that you are concerned with.  Why does He want to provide for what concerns you?  Because He loves you so very much!  Sometimes you are walking a level path, sometimes it’s a bit of an uphill climb, and sometimes, yes, you feel like you are scaling a mountain!

Don’t let a shadow of darkness consume you or make  you forget what it is to bathe in the light of God’s goodness and provision.  You can pray your way out of that sense of despair.  You may still feel depleted in your spirit, but every single time you STOP what you’re doing, then LOOK to see what God is doing around you, and LISTEN to His Word ~ you will absolutely be comforted.

I’ve seen it a hundred times in my life and in the lives of those around me. There is nothing like the feeling you get when you are able to keep the negativity and doubt out of your mind and heart, and be immersed in the truth of God’s love and watch it envelope you heart, mind, and soul.  The joy that explodes within you when you see how God provides for you is incredibly freeing!  Free to walk in the presence of your Heavenly Father who loves you unconditionally and wants to shower you with His provision!

~ STOP ~ LOOK ~ LISTEN ~ PRAY ~

Genesis 22 verse 14

Blessings,

René

One thought on “The Ram has been Dispatched…

Leave a Reply

