Storytelling….

I love to tell the WHOLE story!  Much to the chagrin of the folks who love me and know me best, sometimes they get more information than they bargained for.  It’s just how my brain works.  It’s also how my heart works!  I want to talk about my day from beginning to end, and I will admit, sometimes in the midst of my telling, I remember that the beloved family member I’m talking to asked me a question and I still haven’t answered it. Then I have to stop and ask, “What was it that you asked me?”  At other times, (okay…MOST of the time!)  I know I’m giving a lot of detailed information, but I really feel that’s it’s all relevant to the question asked.  Again, my sweet family’s opinion may differ from mine.  But that’s okay!  However……Please tell me friends that I’m not alone here!  I find it very difficult to respond with a one sentence answer….I love the story!

In Psalm 107:1-3, King David writes, “Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.  Let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story— those he redeemed from the hand of the foe, those he gathered from the lands, from east and west, from north and south.”

Yes!  These are my people!!  I realize this verse is basically talking about how people should share their testimony of how God encountered their lives and made a difference in their lives.  But seriously…sometimes I’m desperate to tell the story of how I found a parking place in a crowded Trader Joe’s parking lot; or how the drive on 5 freeways (to get just about anywhere!) was redeemed when the crazy driver didn’t crash into me like I thought they would. And dagnabit…sometimes I want to share the story of how I feel redeemed as a homemaker at the end of the day and regale my darling husband with my tales of finished laundry (yep…folded and put away!), a sparkling bleach cleaned kitchen sink, dusting & vacuuming the whole house, AND have a meal in the oven made from scratch!  Can I get an amen!!??!!

I’ve been doing a bible study with a few mom’s at the high school where my daughter attends.  These are precious women to me and I love sharing Monday mornings with them.  This semester, we’ve been going through the book of Acts.  We read through each chapter and answer just a few simple questions…but they really make you think.  We pick out one or two verses from that chapter and then observe how we see God’s truths in that verse, and then we think about how to apply what we’ve gleaned from that verse into our lives and then follow it up with prayer.  I’m discovering that part of the reason I’m loving reading the book of Acts this time is because it’s a DETAILED STORY!  I’m truly interested and captivated by the minutia of how Paul traveled, which path he took, why he took it, how he got to the next location, etc.  I’m fascinated as well because God decided that these details were worthy enough to be put into scripture for me (and YOU!) to read today!

In Acts 10:9-23, we read about a vision the Lord gave Peter.  It was a very specific and very deliberate word from God, telling Peter how he needed to be ready to accept anyone and anything who had been declared clean by God.  That it was not up to Peter to judge.  This was in preparation of being called to the home of a Gentile of the day(Cornelius), who requested Peter to come to his home and share the Gospel with him.  The Holy Spirit could have just as easily whispered to Peter’s heart, “When Cornelius’ servant comes to you and requests your presence, just go.”  Or the Holy Spirit could have waited until the request was made and said to Peter, “Yes…go here.”  But no! The Lord told Peter a story.

In Acts 11:1-18, Peter has now gone to the home of Cornelius (which by the way…when Peter met Cornelius, he told Peter a very long story of how an angel had appeared to him and told him to send for Peter).  Before the reconciliation through Jesus, it was not lawful for Jews and Gentiles to have community.  The Jews in Jerusalem (ch.11, vs. 1-3) criticized Peter for meeting with a Gentile in his home, for many Jews still didn’t believe that the Gospel was for the Gentiles as well.  So what do we see now in Acts 11:4, “Starting from the beginning, Peter told them the whole story:”

I totally love this!  And Peter did….he told the WHOLE story of his vision that the Lord gave him. And no one interrupted him.  No one bothered him.  No one told him to stop and “get to the point.”

The whole story IS the point!

In a nutshell, the Bible could just say: God made everything. Earth was perfect. Humans messed it up. Jesus came to earth to live, die, and rise again. Jesus’ resurrection made salvation possible. We are saved from eternal death. The end.

How boring would that “story” have been if that had been it!  I am beyond tickled that God wanted to tell us His beautiful story.

It is a story of creativity, grace, tragedy, unspeakable horror, indescribable miracles, mercy, reconciliation, and full restoration!  Because of God’s immense love for us, He wants us to know how very much we are wanted…how very much He wants to know us…how very much He wants a relationship with us.

And you know what ~ God wants you to tell YOUR STORY!

He has created  you to be unique and no one can tell your story except for you.  No one else can display the graces that God has bestowed on your life, like you can. No one can share with others how the great love of the Father has changed your life, like you will be able to.

Blessings to you as you embrace the story of your life.  

2 Corinthians 13:11, “Finally, brothers and sisters, rejoice! Strive for full restoration, encourage one another, be of one mind, live in peace. And the God of love and peace will be with you.”

Strength and courage of the Lord be yours as you boldly share the story of your life!!

Blessings,

René

2 Corinthians 13 verse 11

 

Leave a Reply

