Peace Out

It’s been one of those days and I’m finally sitting down to write ~ I’m taking a “peace out” ~ which I should do far more often!  What does this mean?  That moment when you are about to either explode or implode, but you thankfully catch yourself and basically take a time-out.  You’ve either given a time-out, or been given one, either way the purpose is to redirect the actions and attitudes that are leading you down a negative path towards a more healthy alternative.  So how do you give yourself a Peace-Out?

There’s only ONE way to accomplish this….

You have to go to the Lord in prayer!

We cannot ever (yes…ever!) get enough peace on our own that will be able to tackle an attitude change, or a life change, and make it stick.  I know I have fallen prey to my own designs of making everything perfectly line up to make sure that my life goes exactly how I want it to.  “How’s that workin’ for ya?” you ask ~ it doesn’t!  There have been so many twists and turns in my life, if it wasn’t for the grace and mercy of my precious Savior, I’d be in a sad state for sure!

It is most assuredly not an easy task to pray when you are in the midst of a chaotic, stressful, maddening experience.  Praying is sometimes the last thing you are thinking about.  Asking God to give you peace and patience is not always the first request ~ not to punch someone in the nose is probably more accurate of what is crossing your mind in those moments. When I was a young mom, I used to pray for patience with my little one…all.the.time!  Until one day, a more seasoned mom said to me, “Honey, you’re going to need patience all the time as a mom.  If you keep praying for patience, God is going to keep giving you opportunities to learn how to have it.  How about just pray that you’ll remember to pray.”  Wiser words folks…wiser words!

The best part of praying for peace, is that you aren’t praying and asking God for ‘your’ peace.  You need to ask God to fill you with HIS peace!  In the English Standard Version (ESV) of the Bible, ‘peace’ is referrenced 361 times ~ almost once for each day of the year!  Whoohoo!!!

Check out this treasure: John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”  These are the very words of Jesus to His disciples, letting them know that He was leaving them with the Holy Spirit who would be their comforter, their peace-giver.  Jesus knew that those folks then, just like us today, would need reassurance in times of fear, doubt, anxiousness, anger, trouble ~ that we would need Peace!  Worldly peace is fleeting and temporary and honestly, it won’t get you far.

So when those troubled times hit you, when you have repeated yourself to your kids for the millionth time that day about picking up after themselves, when that car cuts you off on the freeway, when the job goes away, when you’ve been treated poorly ~ you see where I’m going with this ~ give yourself a ‘Peace Out’ and pray.

Here’s the best part ~ He WILL be faithful to answer you!

Blessings,

René

2 Thessalonians 3 verse 16

 

** All bible verses found through: “BibleGateway.” .com: A Searchable Online Bible in over 100 Versions and 50 Languages. Web. 14 Oct. 2015.

 

Leave a Reply

