Created for Relationship

Today, I was reminded that even though social media is a great way to stay connected with friends who live far away, nothing beats sitting down across a table and sharing life.  Even more than that, when you meet with someone that you haven’t seen in years (we’re talking like a good 15 years here!), you can still fill up three hours worth of conversation…and still not be finished. This, by the way, absolutely stymies my husband who wonders what the heck we can talk about for that long.  My answer, “What DON’T we talk about!”  But the real icing on the cake is when you are sitting across from a sister in the Lord ~ the fellowship is even more sweet!

Driving home, so thankful for the time with my friend, I was listening to some favorite Bethel music, and the song “We Dance” came on (see the link below to listen to this song on youtube), it made me so emotional.  Well, that’s not very hard to do ~ music is my love language and I love to worship my Lord in song! Part of that song I absolutely adore is “…And remind me of that song, the one You wrote for me…” It made me think of a verse that calms my heart in the midst of any unsettledness I might be feeling. I know I’ve shared this verse before, but I think it’s worth a repeat mention ~

Zephaniah 3 verse 17 - God sings over me

Seriously ~ how beautiful is God’s Word!  My friend, my sister, your Lord God – the Creator of the Universe will EXULT over you with loud singing!  He has a song just for you and He sings it over you. You know that feeling that comes out of “no where” to calm you in the storms that life kicks up…that’s HIM!  The Holy Spirit is the original “Keep Calm and Carry On” agent.

Sometimes that calmness comes in the form of God’s still small voice of encouragement, sometimes through music, and sometimes through the shared fellowship at a local coffee shop.  God created us for relationship ~ with Him and with others.  And I am so very glad He did!

My prayer for you today is that if you are struggling with a friend or family relationship, do not lose hope!  Continue to pray about it and ask God to give you the wisdom on how to move forward ~ and that might mean standing still while God works things out.  I know it’s hard, but so worth allowing the Lord to sort and sift.  And while you wait, put on your favorite worship music and let those melodies wash your heart and soul with the love the Father has for you.

Blessings,

René

3 thoughts on “Created for Relationship

Leave a Reply

